Top Films of the last 10 years (2006-2016)

Posted: March 7, 2017 in Life

I’ve been keeping lists of my favorite new films every year since 2006 (the 2006 list was lost on myspace blogs), so this being the 10th year I’ve done this I wanted to make a top films of the last 10 years. There are rules: 1) The film had to be on a previous list, so even if I saw a better film after if it wasn’t on the list I can’t use it 2) List them in a non specific order 3) 35 films total

  • Boyhood
  • The Social Network
  • Mad Max: Fury Road
  • The Act of Killing
  • Drive
  • Room
  • Short Term 12
  • Ex Machina
  • The Look of Silence
  • What We Do In the Shadows
  • Nightcrawler
  • Birdman
  • Whiplash
  • LEGO Movie
  • Fruitvale Station
  • The Master
  • Beast of the Southern Wild
  • The Muppets
  • Inception
  • Scott Pilgrim Vs The World
  • Restrepo
  • Blue Valentine
  • The Hurt Locker
  • District 9
  • UP
  • (500) Days of Summer
  • The Fantastic Mr. Fox
  • Up in the Air
  • The Dark Knight
  • In Bruges
  • No Country for old men
  • Hot Fuzz
  • There Will Be Blood
  • The Departed
  • Sing Street

Lists: 2007200820092010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

Comments
  1. liandc says:

    What did you like about Boyhood?

    • gshonk says:

      I loved the way it was shot, the way it was written, the way the dialog and actions seemed real, the idea of taking 10 REAL years to form art and the risks that came along with that. I loved the realism of the story, and the joy and sadness we see reflected in the eyes of the family. Everything about it moved me.

Leave a comment